The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Taxes

with 6 comments

My wife and I recently received notice that our tax “refund” had been processed and would soon be deposited in our account. What bothers me about a “refund” is that it is evidence that we had given the government too much of our money during the previous year.

For several years now, I have tried to structure my deductions as a W-2 employee, and her payments as a small business owner, to make certain that the government gets only the amount necessary to keep me out of jail. Each year, the government seems to find new and creative ways to take a bigger bite out of my ass.

I have long believed that if the Federal Withholding system were abolished and every American taxpayer was required to write out monthly, or quarterly, tax payments to the State and Federal governments, a tax revolt would take place that would make the French Revolution look like a badminton match.

 At the time of the American Revolution, the average household was taxed at approximately 1% of total income and had no say in how the taxes were levied. Today, the average household pays more than 39% in taxes and although we now have “representatives” in the body that levies the taxes, we have no direct say–such as at the ballot box– in the amount we will pay and in that for which the monies collected will be used.

So here is the question kids: How did we go from being a nation willing to fight against a tax system that took 1% of our income, to a nation of sheep that quietly accepts government taking nearly half of our income? 

Scolai  

Written by thescolai

February 27, 2008 at 12:12 pm

Posted in Blogroll, Tax Refund, Taxes

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah, Scolai has once again touched upon my biggest bitch about our country-taxation without representation. Yes, we have”representatives” in DC, but who do they really represent? Not us, the Joe Taxpayer.

    You ask, how did we get to this point? Its simple really, its due to an ongoing campaign by govt stuffshirts to make us a little more DEPENDENT on GOVT PROPGRAMS every day. Like a crackhead and his rocks of death, we are exposed a little at a time to GOVT CRACK, that we get used to its euphoric feel. Then we can either pony up a few more of our hard earned dollars to the GOVT, or they take away our share.

    This is the very same premise that the mafioso’s of the 30’s and 40’s used to reap their fortunes. They were hunted down by GOVT, because the GOVT HATES COMPETITION.

    I recieved my pittance tax return. Roughly 25% of what was taken from me was eventually returned. Which still means they KEPT roughly 75% of what was taken. But worry not, my crack bonus( incentive plan check) will arrive in the coming months, and as a good little American tax victim , I should rejoice and be happy at the generosity of my GOVT.

    Boston Tea PArty anyone?

    autumnarcher

    February 27, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  2. Did you know that before the Tea Party the instigators changed into thier costumes in a Masonic Lodge? Just thought I would throw that out there.

    Hooligan

    February 27, 2008 at 2:31 pm

  3. Did you know, that in the occasional year when I have to pay in after I get my taxes finished, I write the check,then rub it in places we won’t mention before sending it off to the IRS?

    autumnarcher

    February 27, 2008 at 5:05 pm

  4. C’mon Hooligan, give it up. I know The Masons have already decided our next Prez. Who’s it gonna be?

    thescolai

    February 27, 2008 at 6:00 pm

  5. I am sure Atumnarcher is already rubbing those places anyways, he uses the check thing as a way to legitimize his rubbing !

    ole reliable

    February 27, 2008 at 8:18 pm

  6. Aren’t firefighters paid through taxes? I agree that taxes are high, but we have a lot of things we didn’t have then like highways, expensive foreign wars and Hillary’s lunch debit card.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 28, 2008 at 10:38 am


Leave a Reply

