The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Obama

with 11 comments

2 more primary victories? I am starting to fear for Senator Obama’s life. Not from any of the usual “Angry White Men” suspects, but from a certain completely delusional failed candidate.

Obama, it appears, is going to succeed in debunking the foregone conclusion of the Clinton Coronation. Guess the tiara has to go back to Tiffany’s.

After seeing his speech in Texas, however, I have to ask myself: Do I really want a President who gives “Shout Out’s”? Or one who refers to supporters attending his events as being “In Da’ House”?

Lately, I have been accused of being “old.” Maybe I am, but I don’t think I’m ready for a Presidental candidate, who is my age by the way, thinking he needs to appeal to the slacker/hip hop segment of the electorate.

Scolai

Written by thescolai

February 20, 2008 at 8:43 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Clinton’s will manage to “Vince Foster” Obama should he get the nomination (and he will) Bill “Klintoon” is a power kook, and will stop at nothing to regain the White House…..watchout, something tragic will happen to Obama..(Ron Brown)

    William Hampton

    February 20, 2008 at 9:43 am

  2. Great reference to Ron Brown. People forget that even high ranking officials in the Clinton Administration were not immune from “dying funny.”

    thescolai

    February 20, 2008 at 9:48 am

  3. Yet again we are left with two mediocre choices for Prez. I don’t think we have seen the face cards in the Clinton hand, but I expect it soon. Obama playing to younger audiences is just like Mccain playing to the crazy Christian sect. They are just garnering votes. At least the young folks don’t have enough organization to make changes while the Christies have some pull. Gay marriage, who cares? Abortion, who is going to pay for the unwanted kids? 10 commandments displayed, sure, put it right next to aesop’s fables.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 20, 2008 at 10:12 am

  4. I agree that the candidates being offered us are mediocre…at best. I would enjoy seeing Madame Clinton pull a truly shady, underhanded stunt to win her party’s nomination through the super delagates. It might finally expose her for the corrupt, power mad woman she is. I don’t debate religious issues, but I will say this: 10 commandments displayed? Do you honestly believe that we, as a society are better off with them being hidden away? Can you say that schools have gotten better since they trashed “The Golden Rule”, in favor of “What ever works for you”? As to the abortion question… There are plenty of people looking to adopt, and going back to the 10 Commandments (not that I myself am perfect), if they were adhered to in a greater degree than they currently are, there would be a need for far fewer abortions to begin with.

    thescolai

    February 20, 2008 at 10:42 am

  5. The 10 commandments don’t need to be displayed because they are already represented in our secular laws. I don’t see a need to alienate non-christians by applying christianity to rules and morals we don’t associate with religion. I agree with the message, but I don’t subscribe to the messenger. Sorry, I was born a heathen.
    I agree that if more people followed positive moral standards there would be less abortions, but reality is that people are still having unwanted pregnancies. In my experience, the people fighting against abortion are the same ones trying to dissolve social programs to take care of poor kids. The problem lies with the parents, not the kids. There is a new billboard up in my town that refers to the 48 million babies that could have been saved. Who is going to take care of them? Who is lining up for a crack baby? My solution: you get two anti-abortion votes for every kid you adopt. Step up to the plate. The point is , good luck forcing people to be good parents. We are all better off if children that will have a sorry upbringing were just not born.
    I believe in the Golden Rule and my children will be brought up that way. I think that the number of good parents is still high. They just don’t get as much coverage. They are too busy working.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 20, 2008 at 12:32 pm

  6. I agree that The 10 Commandments are represented in our secular laws. They are, in fact, the basis for them. That being said, if non-Christians are alienated by The 10 Commandments, wouldn’t it follow that they are also alienated by our secular laws?

    thescolai

    February 20, 2008 at 12:39 pm

  7. No, secular law is just that, secular. I follow the law (most) because I am a decent person, not because God wants me to. Of course law is based on religion as religion was the original law. It was the first way rulers were able to control the masses, by saying “It’s not me, its God. Who are you going to cross?”
    When justice is combined with religion, it follows that in some situations, one may not get a fair judgement. That is why we have secular law, so that yours and my beliefs don’t matter. The law does. It is so I can’t say “You are eating meat during lent. I’m killing you.” It doesn’t protect in most cases, but in the few it does, it is crucial.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 20, 2008 at 1:13 pm

  8. Sorry man, as a Christian, and an American, I just can’t get my head around the “Religion is the opiate of the masses” argument. While I am familiar with Marx (not suggesting you are Marxist), his arguments insult my intelligence, and I feel his philosophy has only brought widespread suffering to the world. Thanks for the thoughts, they were, as always, well put.

    thescolai

    February 20, 2008 at 1:41 pm

  9. 10-4. Agreed to disagree. If it is any consolation, my wife is Christian and we have the same values. I just didn’t grow up in the Church and I lack a few of the fundamental criteria for being Christian. I recently found I had Jewish heritage (kinda kills my argument, huh?) but I have a hard time getting my head around any of it. I just treat people well and try to stay out of trouble. It’s only the labels that I don’t gel with. I appreciate your willingness to hear what someone is really saying, even if you don’t agree with them. It is proof of that intelligence you spoke of. I am willing to bet we aren’t so different after all. Just don’t tell your friends.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 20, 2008 at 1:59 pm

  10. Good Gravy!

    Its nice to see an actual conversation going on here with actual dialog.

    hooliganmind

    February 20, 2008 at 2:20 pm

  11. A democracy is nothing more than mob rule, where fifty-one percent of the people may take away the rights of the other forty-nine.
    Thomas Jeffeson

    Driver of the Wartabago

    February 20, 2008 at 2:21 pm


Leave a Reply

