The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Armed Citizens

with 13 comments

I came across this account by accident. I don’t remember ever reading, or hearing, about it in any type of media.

Too bad the Regents at NIU and V-Tech never thought of this kind of security measure, or researched these statistics, or even, it seems, studied history as undergrads.

Scolai

http://ragingbull.quote.com/mboard/boards.cgi?board=BIBLE&read=97887

Written by thescolai

February 20, 2008 at 8:53 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is interesting, if memory serves from watching the news surrounding this incident the fact that he was taken down by the armed security woman was washed over by the news of the victims at the missonary center. I also remember them downplaying the fact he was shot by the security woman and the media led you to believe he simply shot himself after being confronted by the security personell.

    Hooligan

    February 21, 2008 at 7:39 am

  2. Any of the past killing sprees would have had a different outcome had just one person been armed and offered resistance. This just convinces me more and more that I need that Glock .40………

    olereliable

    February 21, 2008 at 8:32 am

  3. The last I heard or read about this case was when they determined the guy died of a self-inflicted gunshot wound after the security guard shot him (probably the plan anyway). Here in the deep south, even though it is illegal, there are plenty of handguns on campus. A shooting wouldn’t last so long around here.

    Just a tidbit. The church involved was founded by Ted Haggard, the guy that was kind of gay and bought some Meth but never did it (I guess that makes him a liar as well, hahaha). Oh yeah, he apologized and now its all good! I know that isn’t even close to an excuse for a killing spree, just some background. He was very involved with a church around here that protests at my school and other “Pagan” (their words, not mine. I went to school) functions like Mardi Gras. In my town, we have one of the oldest Mardi Gras celebrations in the state and it is nothing like New Orleans. It’s a family event with parades and everyone hangs out down town. None of the debauchery that our southern neighbors court, but these guys show up with their signs and a bull horn and begin telling everyone how they are going to hell for this Pagan ritual. I’m alright with that until they are screaming at kids (4-10 yrs.) that walk by that they are the Murderers of Jesus and Fornicators. Needless to say, I lost it. I had a picture made with my new friends. I’ll just say I don’t own overalls…

    [IMG]http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j80/europeanspec/happymardigras.jpg[/IMG]

    Sorry I kind of highjacked the thread.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 21, 2008 at 9:15 am

  4. The last I heard or read about this case was when they determined the guy died of a self-inflicted gunshot wound after the security guard shot him (probably the plan anyway). Here in the deep south, even though it is illegal, there are plenty of handguns on campus. A shooting wouldn’t last so long around here.

    Just a tidbit. The church involved was founded by Ted Haggard, the guy that was kind of gay and bought some Meth but never did it (I guess that makes him a liar as well, hahaha). Oh yeah, he apologized and now its all good! I know that isn’t even close to an excuse for a killing spree, just some background. He was very involved with a church around here that protests at my school and other “Pagan” (their words, not mine. I went to school) functions like Mardi Gras. In my town, we have one of the oldest Mardi Gras celebrations in the state and it is nothing like New Orleans. It’s a family event with parades and everyone hangs out down town. None of the debauchery that our southern neighbors court, but these guys show up with their signs and a bull horn and begin telling everyone how they are going to hell for this Pagan ritual. I’m alright with that until they are screaming at kids (4-10 yrs.) that walk by that they are the Murderers of Jesus and Fornicators. Needless to say, I lost it. I had a picture made with my new friends. I’ll just say I don’t own overalls…

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 21, 2008 at 9:16 am

  5. Although I dont have statistics to back it up, it does seem as though many of these killing sprees end in suicide, either self inflicted or suicide by cop. I think that any armed opposition does speed the transition from killer to suicide subject.

    olereliable

    February 21, 2008 at 10:05 am

  6. Agreed. Where are the days of just killing yourself?

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 21, 2008 at 10:17 am

  7. Its sad that someone even considers suicide, taking inncoent victims out before killing yourself indicates a level of dysfunction that I cant wrap my head around. People who are mentally ill are often times violent (I have first hand experience here) For whatever reason there are mental health professionals who would have you believe otherwise, I suspect it is to avoid placing a stigma on people who are mentally ill.

    olereliable

    February 21, 2008 at 10:22 am

  8. Liberal, Im Sure
    Seriously man that picture is hysterical. There was a similar group at the Fallen Fire Fighters Memorial in Colorado Springs September 2007. We should send out a disclaimer that speeches and preaching of such a nature does not go over well in a group of say 3,000 Firefighters.

    I would venture a guess that upwards of 90% end in suicide of all of the mass shootings in recent years.

    Hooligan

    February 21, 2008 at 10:48 am

  9. Hooligan,
    Here is the link to the news video. I am about halfway through it.

    http://www.wafb.com/Global/story.asp?s=7824875

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 21, 2008 at 1:35 pm

  10. To play the video, you must check New Roads Mardi Gras and hit play.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm

  11. It looked as if you were trying to reason with them Liberal? You would have had much better luck talking to the ground beneath your feet……the ground could very well be smarter.

    Hooligan

    February 21, 2008 at 2:31 pm

  12. I tricked him. He thought he was talking to me most of the time, but I was keeping him occupied and quiet. He would start yelling anytime I asked him a difficult question. These guys couldn’t handle their drugs and now their new one is this quasi-religion brainwashing bologna. You should have seen his face when I accused him of cooking crank in his bathtub. He said, “I have sinned.” These guys wish they were Westboro.

    Liberal, I'm Sure...

    February 21, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  13. Thanks for a great read Scolai, inspired me to step outside for an Armed Citizen workout- I ran 2 magazines through my carry gun, which always feels good. Especially knowing the mere thought of it scares Pindick liberals half to death!

    warning- author only carries $20 worth of ammuntion!

    autumnarcher

    February 21, 2008 at 2:46 pm


Leave a Reply

