The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

The Serge Gainsbourg Response

with one comment

Yesterday’s post was roundly criticized by some of my more provincial cohorts. While far from attempting to defend that particular post (I haven’t felt good about myself since removing “The Guy From Boston” and have since vowed to unapologetically stand behind whatever I choose to do with this site), I feel the need to further the cultural education of some of my worthy constituents.

Serge Gainsbourg has variously been described as: “…An agent provocateur, a scoundrel, unapologetic drunkard, and chain smoker.” Further as: “Henry Mancini, Keith Richards and The Marquis de Sade, all wrapped up in a disheveled package.”

Besides being all of the above, the man had an incredible talent for pulling beautiful women. A very partial list of his conquests includes:

Bridgette Bardot

bardot.jpg 

Catherine Deneuve

deneuve.jpg

Marianne Faithful

faithful.jpg

and Jane Birkin

birkin.jpg 

Even more respectable is the fact that he continued to pull this kind of quality to the end of his life! Maybe instead of saying I wanted to be “Expressively French,” I should have said “Expressively Serge Gainsbourg.”

At the risk of alienating “big boy” I am posting Serge Gainsbourg’s most famous, and one his most controversial, songs  “Je t’aime, moi non plus.” This song (released in 1969), while tame by today’s standards, was banned in most countries for being too explict.

So, for the cultural benefit of Big Boy and the always stalwart Driver of the Wartabago, here is Serge Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin with “Je t’aime, moi non plus”

Scolai

Written by thescolai

November 24, 2007 at 12:49 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “While far from attempting to defend that particular post (I haven’t felt good about myself since removing “The Guy From Boston” and have since vowed to unapologetically stand behind whatever I choose to do with this site), I feel the need to further the cultural education of some of my worthy constituents.”
    How much is it possible?

    reverva

    December 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm


Leave a Reply

