The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Love Me If You Can

leave a comment »

“I’m a man of my convictions call me wrong, call me right, but I bring my better Angels to every fight. You may not like where I’m going, but you sure know where I stand….. Hate me if you want to; Love me if you can.”

Tonight, as Mrs. Scolai and I were headed to Bike Night at Boomer’s Roadhouse, this song came on the radio. Mrs. Scolai fairly screamed: “That’s you to a tee!!!!”

I will take that comment as a compliment while giving just due to two of my brothers for the idea behind this post. First to my brother Bill, who asked in a previous post, “Have you ever had one of those songs where you were pretty much obsessed with it the first time you heard it?” And secondly to my brother Ole Reliable, who first posted on this great Toby Keith song.

I think that in today’s cravenly P.C. world, people like myself, who have convictions and are willing to intellectually–and if need be, physically–back them up; scare the average citizen silly. People today spend so much time walking on egg shells trying not to offend, ignoring reality, and keeping their heads in the sand, that when someone comes along and speaks the obvious truth, they (we) are immediately branded “mean spirited” and “offensive.”

So, thanks to Toby Keith for articulating a thought that has been on my mind for a good part of my life.

Scolai

Written by thescolai

August 2, 2007 at 11:58 pm

Posted in Blogroll, Life, Personal

Leave a Reply

