The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Commentary from Papa Scolai

with one comment

My father sent me the following piece. He submitted this comment to our local paper, “The Oakland Press”. I don’t know how this angle on the Iraqi refugees escaped me, or so many others for that matter, but it did. I have no problem with Iraqi women and children being given a safe haven in this country until hostilities have ceased. I see absolutely NO reason for healthy Iraqi men of fighting age to be allowed here for any reason other than military training.

Scolai

“Today’s Oakland Press (Thursday) had an article about “Refugees from Iraq”. One of the refugees stated “I hope to finish my studies”….Let me ask this, do you think our brave warriors fighting in Iraq would like to finish their studies? I do support the war on terrorism, however, when two, twenty five year old males come to our country instead of staying, and fighting for their country, makes my patriotic blood boil.

I am an Army veteran and at this time, I would have the difficulty encouraging my grandsons to join the military, be deployed to Iraq, while young Iraqi’s are immigrating here as ” refugees” and our young men and women are sacrificing their future for Iraq’s freedom. If the Iraqi’s don’t care to fight for freedom, I ask, Why should we?

Perhaps a requirement to become a refugee in America should be mandatory military duty..and deployment to Iraq.”

Written by thescolai

August 2, 2007 at 10:24 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great piece, 100% agree.

    Hooligan

    August 2, 2007 at 11:24 am


Leave a Reply

