The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Daughters

with 8 comments

For the first time, I am going to ask my online peers to judge me. Today was the last day of school for my girls. The Princess and some friends were going to the home of another friend for a last day of school party. This friend lives on one of the local lakes, and against my better judgement I allowed them to go. In the interest of being a “cool Dad” I called about an hour after dropping them off to ask if anyone was hungry. I told the Princess I would make arangements for them to pick up some pizzas at a nearby store. She told me where she would like to get them from, I asked for the phone number, she didn’t know it and called out “Does anyone know the number?”

This is where it gets interesting. In the back ground I here an obvious teenage boy sneer “Tell him to call 555-1212.” Now mind you, I am trying to do them a favor. Further, I am a guy who puts a premium on respect. I give it, and I certainly expect it in return. When the Princess came back on the line, I said “I want that kid’s name.” She, being a teenager, wouldn’t give it to me. I went ahead and paid for the pizzas, and let it go for the moment. Later, when I picked them up, I told her: “Until you give me the name of the smart assed future prison bitch, your snowboarding season pass is on hold.” She gave up his name as she was speed dialing her Mother to tell her: “Dad is flipping out over nothing.”

The next thing I know, Mrs. Scolai is suggesting Anger Management, and my life is once again in chaos.

I have this kid’s name, and while I will not specifically target him, if I ever run into him, I am going to knock him out for being a kid who obviously needs to learn some respect. I’m not particularly angry, but when I come across this kid, I AM going to put his lights out. Now, my question, for Fathers of Daughters only, is:  Am I being an over reacting prick, or a Father who loves his daughter and doesn’t want her around even a borderline type of guy?

Scolai 

Written by thescolai

June 13, 2007 at 4:33 pm

Posted in Blogroll, Family, Life, Personal

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, I love this post. Hey Scolai, long time reader, first time commenter.

    I have a Princess at home as well, although she’s only 2 years old right now. I can totally relate to wanting to protect her from anything and everything “borderline.” That being said, I’m going with option A. Were you a teenage boy once? I was, and guess what, while I do my best to be respectful to all people now, I can imagine I was a smart ass punk then. In fact, I’d almost guarantee it. If the kid had made a reference to your daughter or to you personally or had done something really out of line like throw a beer on her, I’d probably fly up to help you, but “Tell him to call 555-1212” is pretty freaking light if you ask me.

    Chris Thomas

    June 13, 2007 at 5:12 pm

  2. Better get support from your wife…instead of her supporting that little prick’s comment….Personally if that had happened to me..I would have gone over there and told the little asshole where the bear shit in the woods…AND, my daughter would have gone home with me. Better yet, I would have crammed a pizza down his throat…and suggested that he call 911.

    William Hampton

    June 14, 2007 at 6:55 am

  3. Chris, if you’ve read post number two, you can probably guess where part of my temper comes from. =) I’m a violent guy by nature and sometimes the hair trigger gets tripped. It turns out there is a song containing the lyric “Call 555-1212.” I’m giving the girls the benefit of a doubt when they tell me that this kid was trying to make a joke and just can’t sing! It didn’t help that I had had a run in with a young “man” on a call the night before, and had a pretty poor view of young “mens” attitudes these days in general.
    Thanks for taking the time to give the type of reasoned response all your readers have come to expect from “Pour Out”!

    thescolai

    June 14, 2007 at 7:27 am

  4. Am I a Peer….I feel more comfortable serving as the “Bad Example” or “Dont ever do what he just did”

    That being said as the father of a daughter several ideas come to mind.

    1. Rear naked Choke
    2. Kimoura
    3. Arm Bar
    4. Muay Thai Kick

    But like I said I am the bad example.

    Hooligan

    June 14, 2007 at 8:03 am

  5. Yeah. . .I have to go with Chris on this one. Although I would love the conversation with the police. “So, Mr. Hampton, tell me again why you knocked the. . .what did you call him. . .oh yeah “smart assed future prison bitch” out?” “He told me to call information to get the number for the pizza place!” “Ok. . .thanks. Hey boys! Get the extra padding for this one!!!!

    Bobby seriously. I think I do pretty good on the respect category and I could have heard myself say something like this to get a laugh from my friends. I might have felt bad about it after I said it. But let me ask you Hampton with anger issues #2 (WH) what would you have done if the father of some girl had come after me for making this comment?

    Your daughters going to love messing with you just to get a rise out of you. Guys who give you the number to information today. Guys who write broadway shows and dance ballet tomorrow. She’ll be like, “I haven’t seen my Dad lose it in a while. Come home with me, I’ll tell him we’re dating.” “This is gonna be great!”

    Hampton

    June 14, 2007 at 9:57 am

  6. Alright, Alright! I’m laughing as I write this. Although I am much more inclined to solve things the William/Hooligan way, logic prevails. Thanks to Hampton and Pour Out for some grat disinterested opinions.

    Scolai

    The Scolai

    June 14, 2007 at 12:36 pm

  7. Reason prevails. Nice. Hey, one time, when I was at a hockey game, I saw this guy screaming and cursing at another guy for supposedly spilling a little beer on his daughter. Trust me, you don’t want to be that type of prick…

    Chris Thomas

    June 14, 2007 at 1:39 pm

  8. If some Dad would have gotten after you…he and I would have gone to the dance…..c’mon I have always protected my kids…even when they were wrong. However, we would have had a discussion about it later (My kid and I)

    William Hampton

    June 14, 2007 at 3:56 pm


Leave a Reply

