The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

What If’s?

with one comment

I’m leaving for Florida in the morning for a few days R&R. I have never been a big fan of the Gulf side, but my wife and daughter are enamored of it so… what are you gonna do?

My brother posed an interesting question on his blog the other day. He asked that you consider the “What If’s” in your life. What major decisions have you made that, if reversed, could have meant a different path, or different life, for you? I’ve given that question a good deal of thought, and this is what I think:

What if I had dropped out of high school on my 18th birthday and joined the Marines? In 1981 they still took drop-outs. Would I be living in California, instead of Michigan?

What if, nine months later, my Army recruiter had’nt mis-read my test scores and sent me to Ft. McClellan for MP school instead of Ft. Leonard Wood for Transportation school? Would I be in New York solving homicides, instead of Michigan driving fire engines?

What if, while in Germany, I had’nt stepped in for a friend when the Division Lt. Heavyweight champ caught him with his girlfriend? Would my bite not be as crooked? (Yeah, I got my jaw jacked in that one!)

When you live the eclectic life that I have, “What if’s” abound. What I’ve realized is, God has a “Plan A” for everyone, but because He’s omniscient, and because of free will, He knows that some of the more thick headed among us will need a “Plan B,” or C, or D. I think I must be on “Plan F” by now. Thankfully, for me, there are 20 more letters in the alphabet, and even if I were to run through those, He would start again at “AA”  He loves us all the same and wants the very best for us. Some people heed that still small voice, to their credit. Others ignore it, to their detriment.

When asked to describe my life, I don’t bother with “What If’s.” Instead, I invariably fall back on two quotes. The first is from an Aaron Tippin song:

“If you read between the lines, of this well weathered face of mine, every wrinkle, every scar, is a priceless work of art…”

The second is a direct quote from Joe Walsh when he was asked to describe his life:

“I’ve been rich a few times, I’ve been poor a few times, and I’ve been high a few times.”

Now, it just doesn’t get any more succinct than that!

So, have a great weekend and remember, if you serve the Risen Saviour, Christ Jesus, you are exactly where you are supposed to be, even though it may not be God’s “Plan A,” at the very least it’s His “Plan Now.”

Scolai

Written by thescolai

May 30, 2007 at 3:55 pm

Posted in Blogroll, Life, Personal, Quotes

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What if your Aunt had testicles??? She would be your Uncle.

    “What if”, I had attended a different Jr. High School..instead of Lincoln Jr. High in Pontiac, MI. I would have never had heard that line. 🙂

    Great post Scolai…”What if we had never had moved from Linville….would my life changed as much as it has??? Hmmmm

    What if …I had (like you) joined the Marines out of high school…would I have the four kids that I have been blessed with ?? Would I have my grandkids? Not likely..oh, I would’ve had children and grandkids…but, all different. I am glad that I have the 4/14 in my life. And, wouldn’t have it any other way……What if……………………………..

    William Hampton

    June 1, 2007 at 10:19 am


Leave a Reply

