The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee

leave a comment »

I got home from work yesterday morning primed to catch part of The Sopranos or all of Entourage before the Memorial Day Parade. To my great disappointment, both shows had been pre-empted by the HBOmovie “Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee.” I should qualify that statement. As I said yesterday I am a student of history, so I guess there could be worse programs with which to pre-empt my normal Sunday night viewing (a Clinton years retrospective immediately comes to mind).

The movie started out well with an accurate portrayal of the Northern Plains Tribes encampment on the Little Big Horn river on June 25th, 1876. The battle that took place that day is now immortalized as “Custer’s Last Stand.” Sonny Barger, former President of the Oakland California Hells Angels put it best when he said “Custer was not only a fool, he was a fool who f**ked up.”

The next scene left me smashing the power button on my remote.

Cut to an office in The White House. In the office are President Grant (played by Fred Thompson), General Sherman, and a Liberal Senator (played by Aidan Quinn). The dialogue went something like this:

Liberal Senator: We had no right to be there. They didn’t attack us.

General Sherman: What do want us to do, cut and run?

How wonderfully PC of the producers to tie “Custer’s Last Stand” to the war in Iraq. It’s another example of the contempt in which they hold those of us in “fly over country.” Did these morons actually think that that reference would be missed? Or were they hoping it would get us mid-western troglodytes to see the war in a different light?

Either way, I won’t be watching the rest of what could have been an educational and informative movie. When the political bias is so evident in the first five minutes, I know it’s time to change the channel.

Scolai

Written by thescolai

May 29, 2007 at 7:50 am

Leave a Reply

