The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

A man I never met

leave a comment »

This weekend brought tragedy at 2 seperate race tracks here in MI. The news was quick to spread within the racing community, while I do not race, I frequently attend one of the short tracks that was involved. When tragedy strikes it causes me to pause and reflect on my thoughts on death. Both of these men died doing something that they loved.  While both deaths were untimely they were honorable.

 When the space shuttle Discovery crashed in 2003 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Space_Shuttle_Columbia_disaster  I was watching the news with my then 13 year old son. He asked me what had happened and as I choked on my words I explained the tragedy. He could tell that I was shaken by the news so I went on to explain to him that these folks had died  honorably, they died doing something they loved, something important.

1 1/2 years ago my Father passed away, mowing the lawn ( he had been told repeatedly not to by his Doctor) He died on his terms, doing what he wanted to. He knew his time was short and he was going to do it his way right up to the end. Agree with it or not we knew the only way he was ever happy was doing what he wanted to do, stubborn till the end.

Never does a day go by that I am not thankful for the freedoms afforded by the sacrifices made by the Men and Women of the U.S. military past and present. Freedom has never been free.

While I am not a religious person (I dont believe a building makes you righteous) I am a spiritual man. I have seen many people die, while I dont dwell on it, I think it is vitally important to live every day like there arent any more, for all we know there arent !

OR

Written by thescolai

May 8, 2007 at 12:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

