The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

About “The Scolai”

leave a comment »

This post was originally intended to be a response to a reader’s e-mail I received at The Scolai.com. I haven’t put up an “About” page on that site, and the reader wanted to know who I am. Like so many other things I have begun, this one took an unexpected turn and came at the question from a different angle. Hopefully, this post will give readers on both sites a little more insight into my chaotic mind:

I was listening to The Kinks “Complete Collection” the other day. I think they are the most underated group to come out of the sixties “British Invasion.” It may owe something to the fact that, for reasons never made clear, they were banned from touring in the U.S. from 1965-1969  by the American Government. It must have been some reason though, I mean, Keith Richards and Keith Moon run wild at the party and Ray Davies has to stay in Europe? Come On. J. Edgar’s garters must have been a little too tight. Everyone knows the big hits: You Really Got Me, All Day And All Of The Night, Celluloid Hero’s, Lola, State of Confusion etc.

My personal favorite is “I’m Not Like Everybody Else.” It’s the kind of song you sing in the car by yourself, and before you know it, you are practically snarling the chorus and giving the finger to the world. (And yes, I know that the IBM commercial  wrecked it for a lot of fans, but I am fairly adept at denial.) I searched high and low for a decent video, or available MP3, without success. How about any of you tech savvy music fans? Hooligan? Figurehead

So in lieu of sounds, here are the lyrics:

I won’t take all that they hand me down,
And make out a smile, though I wear a frown,
And I won’t take it all lying down,
‘Cause once I get started I go to town.

‘Cause I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else.

And I don’t want to ball about like everybody else,
And I don’t want to live my life like everybody else,
And I won’t say that I feel fine like everybody else,
‘Cause I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else.

But darling, you know that I love you true,
Do anything that you want me to,
Confess all my sins like you want me to,
There’s one thing that I will say to you,
I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else.

I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else
And I don’t want to ball about like everybody else,
And I don’t want to live my life like everybody else,
And I won’t say that I feel fine like everybody else,
‘Cause I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else.

Like everybody else,
Like everybody else,
Like everybody else,
Like everybody else.

If you all want me to settle down,
Slow up and stop all my running ’round,
Do everything like you want me to,
There’s one thing that I will say to you,
I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else.

I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else.
And I don’t want to ball about like everybody else,
And I don’t want to live my life like everybody else,
And I won’t say that I feel fine like everybody else,
‘Cause I’m not like everybody else,
I’m not like everybody else.

Like everybody else (like everybody else),
Like everybody else (like everybody else),
Like everybody else (like everybody else),
Like everybody else.

Scolai

Written by thescolai

May 1, 2007 at 1:33 am

Leave a Reply

