The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

The Question

with 2 comments

Are you going to meet me?

Is this the question that has hung just out of reach, unspoken, for so long? The one so often hinted at that it seems surreal to hear it out loud. How do you take it after so many false starts, after so many times of not asking the only question left? Is it real this time, or just one more test of how far you’ll actually go?

Are you going to meet me?

Is it a fair question? Would someone who really cared for you put you in this position? Would they? How does it feel to find that what is right is becoming daily more unobtainable, while what is wrong is daily being placed at your disposal?

Are you going to meet me?

Where would it all lead if you did? Would it lead to a place of lasting acceptance and comfort or one of fleeting satisfaction? Will you ever know? Looking around you, you see what’s been lost by so many who have taken that step. One in a hundred actually gains anything of value. Is it worth it? Are you that one?

Are you going to meet me? 

Where does it leave everyone else in your life? Your actions are like dropping a stone in a pond. The ripple effect is very real. Nothing, and no one, is left untouched, or unchanged.

Are you going to meet me?

I live with this question. I have been alone and seen the possibilities, the scenarios, and the outcomes. I have fallen asleep hoping for an answer in the morning, and awakened to push myself to the point of exhaustion in hopes of an epiphany, something to make this all clear.

Are you going to meet me?

Have you ever needed the phone to ring? Have you ever needed that small connection so badly that when it comes you feel like you’re mainlining?  

I have.

So… Are you going to meet me?

Scolai

Written by thescolai

April 30, 2007 at 5:44 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Figurehead and I have no idea what this is supposed to mean.

    Hampton

    May 1, 2007 at 4:09 pm

  2. I thought Figurehead of all people would have gotten it, from a writers perspective, of course.

    The Scolai

    May 1, 2007 at 7:02 pm


Leave a Reply

