The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Simply Successful Secrets

leave a comment »

You’ve probably seen a few of these by now. Pour Out tagged a number of us to write down our ideas on what makes us “Successful.” I’ve been reading various entries over the past few days and have seen many of the things I would like to think help me get through the day. If some seem familiar, it’s not so much plagiary as it is agreement with what they’ve written. So here, without further adieu, is The Scolai’s addition to Simply Successful Secrets:

1. I Read. Voraciously, anything I can get my hands on. I take a book or magazine with me nearly everywhere I go. If I’m waiting in line at the bank, a doctors office, or picking my kids up from school, I’m usually reading something.

2. I listen to music that has something to say. You won’t find anything like Michael Bolton anywhere within earshot of me. I won’t waste my time on someone not literate enough to put words together in a meaningful manner.

3. I keep my temper in check. There are days when I just want to walk down the street punching every goofy bastard that walks by, but I do my best to put myself in their place long enough to let them pass. Then I suppress the urge to chase them down and blindside them.

4. I write. I’ve always written. Songs, poems, stories, death threats, spray painted obscenities, the usual. Okay, I lied about the last two. Seriously, writing is one of the most effective ways I have of controlling my temper.

5. I’m not afraid to be lazy. There are very few jobs or chores that can’t be put off in favor of spending a few hours taking my girls somewhere, riding my motorcycle, sitting in the shade with a book, or on my porch with a few PBR’s.

6. I try to stay in shape. I absolutely HATE to work out, but I do 4-5 times a week, just so I can continue to do all the things my doctor says are bad for me.

7. I eat well. Not right; well. I eat steaks, sausage gravy, chicken and dumplings, lots of pasta, starch and butter to name a few of my favorite things. I like Beer with my Soul Food, Red Wine with my Italian, and a good Bourbon with my after dinner cigar. 

8. I Debate. Everything. There are even times when I’ll take an opposite view just to keep an argument going. I love to have spirited discussions with people who can keep up. Please don’t think I’m being arrogant, most times I’m the one trying to keep up.

9. I am a giver. I love to do things for others and to surprise people with things. I practice random acts of kindness and I know that I get more out of it than the people I’m helping.

10. I Pray and Praise. I pray every day. I praise God for all the things He has put in my life. Whether I see it as good or ill, I know that God is on His throne and I rest in His promises. I don’t believe there has been a time in the last 5 years that I have missed praying for safety on my motorcycle or praising God for a safe return. I pray for my wife, my children, my family and friends. I pray for people I have never met. I believe 100% in the Power of Prayer. 

So there it is. Thanks to Pour Out for a very interesting exercise.

Scolai

Written by thescolai

April 20, 2007 at 6:15 am

Leave a Reply

