The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

The Lone Polar Bear

with 2 comments

Back on New Years Day 1981 or 1982, I took advantage of some thin ice and did my own Polar Bear Club swim. Yesterday, I had the opportunity for a repeat performance. Some background information: Air Temperature-32 degrees, Water Temperature- so cold that my testicles were bruised… WHEN THEY HIT MY COLLAR BONES! Kids, take some advice from your old Uncle Scolai: DON’T try this at home. 

polar-bear-club-003.jpg

polar-bear-club-005.jpg

polar-bear-club-006.jpg

Written by thescolai

February 21, 2007 at 6:21 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    I’ve seen the polar bear events on TV over the years. I always wondered just what the motivation was, other than to do something rarely done and that takes suspension of good sense.

    Your a guy with more courage than I posess when it comes to this sort of thing. I assume you survived this activity and will be rejoining the cowardly in the blogosphere.

    Just so you know, I get chilled to the bone standing in front of the fridge.

    Hank

    icanplainlysee

    February 21, 2007 at 3:33 pm

  2. Hi Scolai:

    Hahaha! That’s awesome! I don’t think I’d be able to survive even putting a toe in the water.

    Just out of curiosity, how up North was this? I live way up North in Canada so I understand about -32 degrees-Celsius temperatures. It’s about -37 degrees-Celsius here today…not including the windchill factor.

    Winluck

    February 24, 2007 at 8:26 pm


Leave a Reply

