The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Socks

leave a comment »

This post will probably be seen as completely out of character with the evolution of this site. If you’ve read this from the beginning, or gone through the archives, you know that I promised to write about whatever I felt like, whenever I felt like it.

Yesterday I was shopping, definitely not one of my favorite pursuits, but when you live in a house that passes for the general assembly of women, sometimes you have no choice. I was in Old Navy with my wife and daughters when I came across a sale on socks. You might think “So?” Nothing I know, that isn’t intoxicating, immoral, or illegal, makes me feel better than a new pair of socks. 

Chippewa work boots aren’t exactly Italian loafers, but they are what I wear almost everyday. At the firehouse, off duty, or riding my motorcycle, good socks make a huge difference when you wear boots 12-16 hours a day. My favorites are Hanes Men’s Cushion Crew, Champion Men’s High Performance, and Columbia Sportswear Company Active.   I think new socks (ones that cost a little, not 10 pairs for $2) are probably a better anti- depressant than Prozac could ever hope to be.

Give it a try sometime. 

Scolai  

Written by thescolai

February 5, 2007 at 12:49 pm

Leave a Reply

