The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Public vs Private

with one comment

“Three teenage girls from North Babylon High School who videotaped themselves kicking and punching another girl and
 then posted the attack on the Internet were arrested Tuesday by police who used the widely circulated video to help catch them, Suffolk police said.”
(Fox News.com)
 

I have teenagers. I know High School students who work as cadets at the Fire Department, and College students trying to become Firefighters. What I have come to realize in the last year or so, is that young people today have a far different view of privacy than do their parents.  Kids today don’t seem to realize that anything they post online is PUBLIC and will most likely be seen by hundreds, if not thousands, of people. In the last year alone, I have seen things online that made me scratch my head. “Do they want to get caught?” “Don’t they realize the position they are putting themselves in?”

Its not that these kids are doing anything that hasn’t been done by previous generations, although they seem to think they are original, it’s that they have no concept, that once posted, the record of their actions has moved well beyond their circle of friends. I can’t tell you the number of times “The Princess” and her friends have asked me “How did you know about that?” My usual response is: “Morons, the web is a PUBLIC DOMAIN; I’m not the only parent who knows what you dopes did.” 

The girls in the above story were charged with juvenile delinquency with an underlying charge of attempted assault in the third degree. In one recent incident, the aftermath of which I was personally involved, a young man who had spent the last four years building a good reputation and acquiring all the necessary certifications for employment as a Firefighter, saw his plans derailed by a three minute video posted on a website that was supposed to be viewed only by “Friends.” He was on the verge of realizing his dream and now, despite the best efforts of several of us to mitigate the damage to his reputation, he will not be working with us anytime soon. 

Look, the last thing I want to sound like is a crotchety old man—although my kids often accuse me of being one—I’m sure that had today’s technology been available to my friends and I at that age; I would probably be writing this from prison. If you are a parent, grand parent, older brother or sister, uncle, aunt, or just a concerned adult, take a minute to explain the concept of privacy, and the consequences of public disclosure, to the younger people in your life. 

Scolai

Written by thescolai

January 18, 2007 at 6:13 am

Posted in Blogroll, Family, Internet, Life

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stupid girls!!!!

    Tyler

    January 18, 2007 at 10:08 pm


Leave a Reply

