The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

Fitness

with 3 comments

I LOVE to eat. Whatever I want, whenever I want. I could never be the guy who doesn’t eat after six, counts calories, has just one drink and watches his red meat intake. I have been known to fry wheat bread in sausage grease and wash it down with a glass of half and half. When I have a taste for bacon, I’ll eat two pounds at one sitting. I make 8-12 egg omelet’s with ham and mozzarella cheese and finished one once during a four minute response to a medical emergency. It’s just not in my nature to do anything in moderation.

I absolutely HATE to work out, absolutely despise everything about it.  Rather than waste time at the gym, I would much rather kick back in my recliner next to my wood burner, with a couple of fingers of Jim Beam in a glass, and knock off another selection from the Western Canon. When you get past 40 however, you realize that to be able to continue the love affair with all that is un-healthy in your life… well its going to take some work.  

About six weeks ago I stepped on the scale and saw that my weight was up to 210 pounds. To call me 5’9 is generous (kind of like saying Tom Cruise is 5’6), and while I have always carried it well, I could see the day when the extra 20 pounds would be a problem. So it’s off to the gym. I chose this particular gym because of the variety of exercise classes offered; thinking these would be much more interesting than merely walking on a treadmill or lifting weights. Unfortunately, when I showed up for the first class, I found it populated by a tight knit group of middle aged women and I quickly realized that having a man in their midst was making several of them quite uncomfortable. Since chivalry is not dead in my town, it was on to plan “B”. 

I am happy to report that in the last six weeks I have lost almost 20 pounds. In the process, I discovered that while I had no idea what I was doing, I was doing it right. The gym owner told me that the plan I backed into was optimal for weight loss. I am sharing it here, not because I am anyone that understands the dynamics of weight loss, but because I’m sure that there are many others out there who have to talk themselves into going to the gym, and want results in the least amount of time possible.  This is not difficult. The whole concept is based on breaking a sweat everyday if possible, but at least four days a week. Here is what works for me: Begin with 2 minutes on the treadmill, pause and do one set of 12-15 weight repetitions. The particular exercise doesn’t matter, just as long as it involves resistance. 2 more minutes on the treadmill, followed by another set of weight reps. No Breaks.  Starting to see the pattern? I continue in this fashion until I have completed nine sets of weight repetitions.  

The workout is completed by 10 more minutes on the treadmill. The goal is to walk 2 miles or more and finish 9 sets of weights in thirty five minutes or less. My best time so far is 28 minutes, and I am hoping to get to 25. By varying the incline and speed on the treadmill, and the amount of repetition’s with the weights, you should burn 400-800 calories each visit. 

Remember, I’m not a personal trainer. I’m just a guy who hates to work out, but I realize that as you get older it is a necessary evil. I hope if you give this routine a try, it works as well for you as it has for me. 

Scolai

Written by thescolai

January 16, 2007 at 12:10 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wheat bread in sausage grease made me laaaugh. I hear ya on the workout thing.

    whitishrabbit

    January 16, 2007 at 1:38 am

  2. He just can’t take the fact that I lost 70 ++++ lbs. on the Beer (MILLER LIGHT! and I am from Highland Twp.,MI.) and turkey diet.

    P.S. He did eat the eggs in 4 min.!!

    The Engineer ENG. CO.# 2 “THE HELLFISH”.

    donna

    January 17, 2007 at 11:36 am

  3. I am in the same place, but younger. I am using my blog as a way to keep myself honest and committed to losing weight. Good luck man.

    -J. Kaiser

    totaltransformation

    February 24, 2007 at 10:59 pm


Leave a Reply

