The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

More of my Favorite Quotes

with one comment

 

“I’m the enemy because I like to think. I like to read. I’m into freedom of speech and freedom of choice. I’m the kind of guy that could sit in a greasy spoon and wonder, gee, should I have the T-bone steak or the jumbo rack of barbecue ribs or the side order of gravy fries? I want high cholesterol. I would eat bacon and butter and buckets of cheese. Okay? I want to smoke Cuban cigars the size of
Cincinnati in the nonsmoking section. I want to run through the streets naked with green Jell-O all over my body reading Playboy magazine. Why? Because I might suddenly feel the need to. Okay, pal?”
Denis Leary

 “I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.” 
  Mark Twain

 “We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.” 
  Winston Churchill

 

“This is the true joy in life, the being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; the being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; the being a force of Nature instead of a feverish selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy. ”
George Bernard Shaw

“Some men can live up to their loftiest ideals without ever going higher than a basement.”  
Theodore Roosevelt

“It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare; it is because we do not dare that they are difficult.”  
 Lucius Annaeus Seneca

 “Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names.”  
 John F. Kennedy

  “Politics are very much like war. We may even have to use poison gas at times.”  
 Winston Churchill
(Sir Winston obviously foresaw today’s Liberal Democrats)

“Elvis was the only man from
Northeast Mississippi who could shake his hips and still be loved by rednecks, cops, and hippies.”
 Jimmy Buffett

 “I have a ‘Play the melody’ philosophy. It means don’t over-arrange, don’t make life difficult. Just play the melody — and do it the simplest way possible.”
Jackie Gleason

 Scolai

Written by thescolai

January 8, 2007 at 5:34 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If I may share some of my own favorite quotes:

    “Revenge is a dish best served cold”
    -Klingon Proverb

    “Every man dies, but not every man lives”
    -Braveheart

    “Give me where to stand, and I will move the earth.”
    -Archimedes

    “Eternity’s a terrible thought. I mean, where’s it going to end?”
    -Tom Stoppard

    thedesktop

    January 8, 2007 at 6:30 am


Leave a Reply

