The Scolai

“Just a Good Guy…With a Few Bad Habits”

The Papa Doble

with 3 comments

As I said in an earlier post, I’m a huge fan of Ernest Hemingway. This is a man who knew how to live. While I don’t agree with the way he departed this life, I have to admire the way he spent his time here. He was a man of enormous appetites and anything he did, he did to the fullest.

I am not a fan of daiquiris.

In my mind, drinks that come from blenders are better left to women, or men who put sweaters on their GoldenDoodles. (Side note: GoldenDoodles, LabraDoodles, Peekapoo’s, or any other unholy canine combinations, are MUTTS! You don’t pay thousands for something you used to get for free just by letting your Lab out of the yard to troll the neighborhood.) But I digress.

Papa Hemingway, while living in Cuba, invented a drink that is known variously as the “Hemingway Daiquiri” or more frequently as the “Papa Doble”.
Recently, my overwhelming curiosity for everything led me to mix a batch of “Papa Doble’s” for the sake of “research.”

The results of my research are as follows: You’ll never find me putting a sweater on a dog, but you may catch me with the occasional Papa Doble.

Recipe:
*3 shots of Bacardi White label Rum
*The juice of ½ a Lime
*The juice of ½ a Grapefruit
*1 splash of Grenadine

Mixing Instructions:
If you insist on going daiquiri style, fill your blender ¼ full with ice, add ingredients and bend, fold, mutilate, whatever it is that blenders do to ice.
(With apologies to Jimmy Buffett-whose music I love; politics… not so much- real men don’t drink anything that comes from a blender.)

However, if you want to keep your foot in the door of the he-man lounge, follow my directions: Shake rum, grapefruit juice, and lime juice with ice and strain into a rocks glass. Add a splash of Grenadine.

Written by thescolai

January 4, 2007 at 2:40 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    I came across your blog and thought it would be a great resource to have listed in our partners section. Would you be interested in swapping links?

    I await your reply,
    Mary Sheldon
    Carrot Juice
    http://www.carrotjuice.com

    Mary Sheldon

    January 4, 2007 at 7:17 am

  2. YOU HAVE GOT SOME KIND OF CLASS IN THIS SITE. Good to see you up and around!

    gambling

    January 4, 2007 at 7:46 am

  3. Hemingway liked the Papa Doble to be made in a blender. Here’s the link to the recipe: http://www.pbs.org/hemingwayadventure/floridita.html. Just click on the “Full Recipe” link on the right hand side (halfway down).

    I think that the Floridita recipe tastes great. My wife thinks it’s too tart. I suppose you could rim the glass with powdered sugar to solve that problem (or just add simple syrup to the mix).

    I don’t like frozen daiquiris either. The best recipe I’ve had for a regular daiquiri, as Hemingway or fellas of his ilk would have liked them:

    1 1/2 oz. white rum
    1 oz. simple syrup
    juice of 1/2 lime

    Shake ingredients in Boston shaker with about 20 ice cubes, strain into a martini glass.

    Mark

    April 11, 2007 at 8:16 pm


Leave a Reply

